He has helped me

Click on the following link for previous layout and posts: https://helpfulinspirationalblog.wordpress.com/

DAILY DEVOTIONAL – Tuesday, June 13, 2017

For more Helpful Inspirational Material:

May you find comfort, encouragement, guidance, hope, inspiration, love, and peace – https://helpfulinspirationalblog.wordpress.com/. May you also find answers to your question(s) through the Scriptures that address every situation you face, and help with your problems. Deb

 

 

 

Dear Lord, open our hearts and our minds to the power of Your Word, which as we read, we may know, understand, and obey Your Word for us today. We pray in Jesus’ name. Amen. (Author unknown)

Today’s scripture reading:

A desire for God’s presence, provision, and protection. No matter where we are, our desire should be for God because only He satisfies fully. (NLT) He has helped me.

Psalm 63:1-11 – O God, you are my God; I earnestly search for you. My soul thirsts for you; my whole body longs for you in this parched and weary land where there is no water.

I have seen you in your sanctuary and gazed upon your power and glory. Your unfailing love is better to me than life itself; how I praise you! I will honor you as long as I live, lifting up my hands to you in prayer. You satisfy me more than the richest of foods. I will praise you with songs of joy.

I lie awake thinking of you, meditating on you through the night. I think how much you have helped me; I sing for joy in the shadow of your protecting wings. I follow close behind you; your strong right hand holds me securely.

But those plotting to destroy me will come to ruin. They will go down into the depths of the earth. They will die by the sword and become the food of jackals.

But the king will rejoice in God. All who trust in him will praise him, while liars will be silenced.

David wrote, “God, . . . earnestly I seek you; I thirst for you, my whole being longs for you, . . . . On my bed I remember you; I think of you through the watches of the night. Because you are my help, . . . . I cling to you.” –Psalm 63:1, 6-8 (NIV)

Laurie LaCross (California) titled her story “GOD IS NEAR;” here is a portion of Laurie’s story:

“A year had passed since Brion, my husband, died. My heart was still profoundly broken. One night, grief overwhelmed me. My Bible was beside me, but almost defiantly I pointed to the empty pillow, ‘God, I don’t want to read my Bible! I want to see Brion’s face. That’s what I want!’ At first I was shocked by my own words, and then I felt refreshed with the strong sense that God was hearing my cry. A sense of peace filled me.

“. . . Amid my overwhelming sorrow, I understood that God’s nearness was all I needed. God was present, and that indescribably presence brought me comfort.

“I have learned that God meets us in those desert places of brokenness – the time of our greatest need. I have found God to be enough and very near. I no longer feel alone. Instead, I am protected in God’s perfect love.”

THOUGHT FOR THE DAY – God hears the cries of my deepest loss.

Prayer: God of all comfort, thank you for seeing our need and hearing our cries. Help us to cling to you always. Amen.

Prayer Focus: SOMEONE GRIEVING A SPOUSE

To read the rest of the story in The Upper Room, click on the following link: http://devotional.upperroom.org/

This entry was posted in Comfort, Encouragement, Guidance, Hope, Inspiration, Love, Peace and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

