He will give you another Counselor, who will never leave you

Click on the following link for previous layout and posts: https://helpfulinspirationalblog.wordpress.com/

DAILY DEVOTIONAL – Thursday, June 15 , 2017

For more Helpful Inspirational Material:

May you find comfort, encouragement, guidance, hope, inspiration, love, and peace – https://helpfulinspirationalblog.wordpress.com/. May you also find answers to your question(s) through the Scriptures that address every situation you face, and help with your problems. Deb

 

 

 

 

 

 

Dear Lord, open our hearts and our minds to the power of Your Word, which as we read, we may know, understand, and obey Your Word for us today. We pray in Jesus’ name. Amen. (Author unknown)

Today’s scripture reading:

Jesus was soon going to leave the disciples, but he would remain with them. How could this be? The Counselor—the Spirit of God himself—would come after Jesus was gone to care for and guide the disciples. The regenerating power of the Spirit came on the disciples just before Jesus’ ascension, and the Spirit was poured out on all the believers at Pentecost, shortly after Jesus ascended to heaven. The Holy Spirit is the very presence of God within us and all believers, helping us live as God wants and building Christ’s church on earth. By faith we can appropriate the Spirit’s power each day. (NLT)

John 14:15-20 – [Jesus said] “If you love me, obey my commandments. And I will ask the Father, and he will give you another Counselor, who will never leave you. He is the Holy Spirit, who leads into all truth. The world at large cannot receive him, because it isn’t looking for him and doesn’t recognize him. But you do, because he lives with you now and later will be in you. No, I will not abandon you as orphans—I will come to you. In just a little while the world will not see me again, but you will. For I will live again, and you will, too. When I am raised to life again, you will know that I am in my Father, and you are in me, and I am in you.”

Jesus said, “Peace I leave with you; my peace I give you. I do not give to you as the world gives. Do not let your hearts be troubled and do not be afraid.” –John 14:27 (NIV)

Christine Henderson (Texas) titled her story “THE PERFECT GIFT OF LOVE;” here is a portion of Christine’s story:

“When my grandparents retired and decided to move into a smaller home, they asked extended family members to come and choose some special mementos from the items that they couldn’t take with them. One of the items I chose was a colorful candy dish. . . . When I look at that candy dish, I am reminded of her love for me.

“God also considers each of us special and has an abundance of gifts and blessings to give us. God’s blessings come to us in many different ways if we are open to receiving them. They come as the gift of a friend who lends a listening ear, the beauty of a new flower in bloom, or the many second chances God offers. God is a perfect parent who showers us with love. God is always ready to hear from us and forgive us when we come with an open heart.”

THOUGHT FOR THE DAY – Today I will give thanks for the many blessings God has given me.

Prayer: Dear God, thank you for the gift of eternal life paid for by the death of your son, our Lord Jesus. Amen.

To read the rest of the story in The Upper Room, click on the following link: http://devotional.upperroom.org/

This entry was posted in Comfort, Encouragement, Guidance, Hope, Inspiration, Love, Peace and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

