Let your light shine before others, so that they may see your good works

Click on the following link for previous layout and posts: https://helpfulinspirationalblog.wordpress.com/

DAILY DEVOTIONAL – Sunday, June 18, 2017

For more Helpful Inspirational Material:

May you find comfort, encouragement, guidance, hope, inspiration, love, and peace – https://helpfulinspirationalblog.wordpress.com/. May you also find answers to your question(s) through the Scriptures that address every situation you face, and help with your problems. Deb

 

 

 

 

 

 

Dear Lord, open our hearts and our minds to the power of Your Word, which as we read, we may know, understand, and obey Your Word for us today. We pray in Jesus’ name. Amen. (Author unknown)

Today’s scripture reading:

Jesus is not saying that his disciples would do greater works—after all, raising the dead is about as amazing as you can get. Rather, the disciples, working in the power of the Holy Spirit, would carry the Good News of God’s Kingdom out of Palestine and into the whole world. (NLT)

John 14:8-14 – Philip said, “Lord, show us the Father and we will be satisfied.”

Jesus replied, “Philip, don’t you even yet know who I am, even after all the time I have been with you? Anyone who has seen me has seen the Father! So why are you asking to see him? Don’t you believe that I am in the Father and the Father is in me? The words I say are not my own, but my Father who lives in me does his work through me. Just believe that I am in the Father and the Father is in me. Or at least believe because of what you have seen me do.

“The truth is, anyone who believes in me will do the same works I have done, and even greater works, because I am going to be with the Father. You can ask for anything in my name, and I will do it, because the work of the Son brings glory to the Father. Yes, ask anything in my name, and I will do it!”

Let your light shine before others, so that they may see your good works, and give glory to your Father in heaven. –Matthew 5:16 (NRSV)

Belinda Jo “B. J.” Mathias (Mississippi) titled her story “JUST LIKE MY FATHER;” here is a portion of B. J.’s story:

“For as long as I can remember, I wanted to be just like my dad. . . .

“Just as I wanted to be like my dad when I was a child, as an adult I want to be like my heavenly Father. I want to strive to love others as God loves, unconditionally, and sacrificially, and to forgive others as God has always graciously forgiven me. I want to bring light into dark places, joy into places of sadness, and healing into places of pain.

“With the power given us by the Holy Spirit, we can be like the Father and like the Son. We can make a difference in our world as we follow Christ.”

THOUGHT FOR THE DAY – If I strive to be like my heavenly Father, I can make a difference in the world.

Prayer: Dear God, may we be more like you with each passing day so that others will come to know your love and grace. In the name of Jesus Christ our Lord. Amen.

Prayer Focus: FATHERS

To read the rest of the story in The Upper Room, click on the following link: http://devotional.upperroom.org/

This entry was posted in Comfort, Encouragement, Guidance, Hope, Inspiration, Love, Peace and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

