Don’t judge, so that you won’t be judged

Click on the following link for previous layout and posts: https://helpfulinspirationalblog.wordpress.com/

DAILY DEVOTIONAL – Wednesday, June 21, 2017

For more Helpful Inspirational Material:

May you find comfort, encouragement, guidance, hope, inspiration, love, and peace – https://helpfulinspirationalblog.wordpress.com/. May you also find answers to your question(s) through the Scriptures that address every situation you face, and help with your problems. Deb

 

 

 

 

 

 

Dear Lord, open our hearts and our minds to the power of Your Word, which as we read, we may know, understand, and obey Your Word for us today. We pray in Jesus’ name. Amen. (Author unknown)

Today’s scripture reading:

Christ is showing us the heart of God the Father. God is not selfish, begrudging, or stingy, and we don’t have to beg or grovel as we come with our requests. He is a loving Father, who understands, cares, and comforts. If humans can be kind, imagine how kind God, the Creator of kindness, can be. (NLT)

Matthew 7:9-12 – [Jesus said] “You parents—if your children ask for a loaf of bread, do you give them a stone instead? Or if they ask for a fish, do you give them a snake? Of course not! If you sinful people know how to give good gifts to your children, how much more will your heavenly Father give good gifts to those who ask him.

Do for others what you would like them to do for you. This is a summary of all that is taught in the law and the prophets.”

Don’t judge, so that you won’t be judged. You’ll receive the same judgment you give. Whatever you deal out will be dealt out to you. –Matthew 7:1-2 (CEB)

Albert Brooks Drake, Jr. (Indiana) titled his story “JUST HELP;” here is Albert’s story:

“My wife and I were enjoying our ride together when we passed a man holding a sign that read, ‘Will Work for Food.’ Later, we saw him getting into a car. Cynically, I wondered aloud what he was going to do with the money he had collected that day. But my wife asked me to follow him so we could also give him some money.

“He pulled into a gas station and bought only $2.00 worth of gasoline. My wife and I quickly agreed that I should talk with him. He indicated that he had lost his job, had not been able to find work for over six months, and that he was trying to feed his family. I told him that we would like to help him in the name of Christ.

“While I filled his car with gasoline, my wife went with the man and bought some food for his family. As we parted, my wife and I gave him more money and a copy of The Upper Room. Then we prayed together.

“Through my wife, God taught me a lesson. Since that day I’ve been less judgmental and more accepting of others. How that man used the gifts we gave him was between him and God. I learned that it is not my place to judge but to help.”

THOUGHT FOR THE DAY – My Christian faith frees me to give without judgment.

Prayer: Dear God, thank you for teaching us to care for others and to leave any judgment of others to you. In the name of Jesus we pray. Amen.

Prayer Focus: SOMEONE WHO HAS LOST A JOB

To read other stories in The Upper Room, click on the following link: http://devotional.upperroom.org/

This entry was posted in Comfort, Encouragement, Guidance, Hope, Inspiration, Love, Peace and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

