If you are asked about your Christian hope, always be ready to explain it

Click on the following link for previous layout and posts: https://helpfulinspirationalblog.wordpress.com/

DAILY DEVOTIONAL – Saturday, July 8, 2017

For more Helpful Inspirational Material:

May you find comfort, encouragement, guidance, hope, inspiration, love, and peace – https://helpfulinspirationalblog.wordpress.com/. May you also find answers to your question(s) through the Scriptures that address every situation you face, and help with your problems. Deb

 

 

 

 

 

 

Dear Lord, open our hearts and our minds to the power of Your Word, which as we read, we may know, understand, and obey Your Word for us today. We pray in Jesus’ name. Amen. (Author unknown)

Today’s scripture reading:

Some Christians believe that faith is a personal matter that should be kept to oneself. It is true that we shouldn’t be boisterous or obnoxious in sharing our faith, but we should always be ready to give an answer, gently and respectfully, when asked about our faith, our life-style, or our Christian perspective. Can others see your hope in Christ? Are you prepared to tell them what Christ has done in your life? (NLT)

1 Peter 3:13-16 – Now who will want to harm you if you are eager to do good? But even if you suffer for doing what is right, God will reward you for it. So don’t be afraid and don’t worry. Instead, you must worship Christ as Lord of your life. And if you are asked about your Christian hope, always be ready to explain it. But you must do this in a gentle and respectful way. Keep your conscience clear. Then if people speak evil against you, they will be ashamed when they see what a good life you live because you belong to Christ.

Make up your mind not to worry beforehand how you will defend yourselves. For I will give you words and wisdom that none of your adversaries will be able to resist or contradict. –Luke 21:14-15 (NIV)

Richard Mel Caplis (Benguet, Philippines) titled his story “SHARING MY FAITH;” here is a portion of Richard’s story:

“While I was studying as an exchange student in Japan, I was out of my comfort zone. . . .

“Then one of the women asked me, ‘What is your religion?’ I responded, ‘I am a Christian.’ . . . After two hours of conversation I learned that my three new friends all belong to other religions, but they said that they had come to understand Christianity better.

“On my way back to the dormitory I asked myself, Did I speak the truth? Did I show that my relationship with Christ is the center of my life? Did I help others to see that love is the focus and the essence of my faith? Today’s verse gave me peace. As long as we keep our relationship with Christ, we can trust God to help us say and do the right things at the right time.”

THOUGHT FOR THE DAY – God can help me share my faith in any situation.

Prayer: Dear Lord, help us to glorify you through all that we say and do so that other people come to know you. Amen.

To read the rest of the story in The Upper Room, click on the following link: http://devotional.upperroom.org/

This entry was posted in Comfort, Encouragement, Guidance, Hope, Inspiration, Love, Peace and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

