With my whole heart, I will praise His holy name

Click on the following link for previous layout and posts: https://helpfulinspirationalblog.wordpress.com/

DAILY DEVOTIONAL – Sunday, July 9, 2017

For more Helpful Inspirational Material:

May you find comfort, encouragement, guidance, hope, inspiration, love, and peace – https://helpfulinspirationalblog.wordpress.com/. May you also find answers to your question(s) through the Scriptures that address every situation you face, and help with your problems. Deb

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Dear Lord, open our hearts and our minds to the power of Your Word, which as we read, we may know, understand, and obey Your Word for us today. We pray in Jesus’ name. Amen. (Author unknown)

Today’s scripture reading:

David’s praise focused on God’s glorious deeds. It is easy to complain about life, but David’s list gives us plenty for which to praise God: He forgives our sins, heals our diseases, redeems us from death, crowns us with love and compassion, satisfies our desires, and gives righteousness and justice. We receive all of these without deserving any of them. No matter how difficult your life’s journey, you can always count your blessings—past, present, and future. When you feel as though you have nothing for which to praise God, read David’s list. (NLT)

Psalm 103:1-5 – Praise the Lord, I tell myself; with my whole heart, I will praise his holy name. Praise the Lord, I tell myself, and never forget the good things he does for me. He forgives all my sins and heals all my diseases. He ransoms me from death and surrounds me with love and tender mercies. He fills my life with good things. My youth is renewed like the eagle’s!

This is the day that the Lord has made; let us rejoice and be glad in it. –Psalm 118:24 (NRSV)

Julie Calleja (Michigan) titled her story “DAILY PRAISE;” here is Julie’s story:

“Life can be busy, with endless responsibilities. I get caught up in the chaos and stress of today’s fast-paced lifestyle. By days’ end I am often tense, exhausted, and impatient.

“Lately, when I put three-year-old Colin to bed, he says to me, ‘Mumma, I think it’s going to be a beautiful day tomorrow.’ This simple statement has affected me profoundly. His words remind me that each day is a gift from God, full of beauty and blessings. Now, instead of fretting over what I didn’t accomplish that day and worrying about tomorrow, I reflect on the blessings I have received. I try to recognize the beauty all around me and look forward to what God has in store while offering a prayer of thanksgiving. I am more focused on God’s grace, and I can see God’s work in my life and in the world more clearly.

“My children and I now greet each morning by reciting Psalm 18:24 together, and I repeat it throughout the day when I find myself becoming anxious or overwhelmed. Now, even in the midst of life’s busyness and complexities, I am able to proclaim like the psalmist, ‘Let my whole being bless the Lord and never forget all his good deeds’ (Ps. 103:2, CEB).”

THOUGHT FOR THE DAY – I will praise God for the beauty and blessings of each day.

Prayer: Gracious God, thank you for your many blessings. Help us to let go of stress and remain full of adoration and gratitude to you. Amen.

Prayer Focus: GRATITUDE FOR TODAY’S BLESSINGS

To read other stories in The Upper Room, click on the following link: http://devotional.upperroom.org/

This entry was posted in Comfort, Encouragement, Guidance, Hope, Inspiration, Love, Peace and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

