I will bring them back home

Click on the following link for previous layout and posts: https://helpfulinspirationalblog.wordpress.com/

DAILY DEVOTIONAL – Thursday, July 13, 2017

For more Helpful Inspirational Material:

May you find comfort, encouragement, guidance, hope, inspiration, love, and peace – https://helpfulinspirationalblog.wordpress.com/. May you also find answers to your question(s) through the Scriptures that address every situation you face, and help with your problems. Deb

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Dear Lord, open our hearts and our minds to the power of Your Word, which as we read, we may know, understand, and obey Your Word for us today. We pray in Jesus’ name. Amen. (Author unknown)

Today’s scripture reading:

God promises to take over as shepherd of his scattered flock. When our leaders fail us, we must not despair but remember that God is in control and that he promises to return and care for his flock. Thus, we know that we can turn to God for help. He is still in control and can transform any tragic situation into good for his Kingdom. (NLT)

Ezekiel 34:11-16 – “For this is what the Sovereign Lord says: I myself will search and find my sheep. I will be like a shepherd looking for his scattered flock. I will find my sheep and rescue them from all the places to which they were scattered on that dark and cloudy day. I will bring them back home to their own land of Israel from among the peoples and nations. I will feed them on the mountains of Israel and by the rivers in all the places where people live. Yes, I will give them good pastureland on the high hills of Israel. There they will lie down in pleasant places and feed in lush mountain pastures. I myself will tend my sheep and cause them to lie down in peace, says the Sovereign Lord. I will search for my lost ones who strayed away, and I will bring them safely home again. I will bind up the injured and strengthen the weak. But I will destroy those who are fat and powerful. I will feed them, yes—feed them justice!

Which one of you, having a hundred sheep and losing one of them, does not leave the ninety-nine in the wilderness and go after the one that is lost until he finds it? When he has found it, he lays it on his shoulders and rejoices. –Luke 15:4-5 (NRSV)

Ashley Justice (The Gambia) titled her story “SAFELY BACK HOME;” here is a portion of Ashley’s story:

“I’ve always found jogging to be a good way to spend time with God. . . .

“Because I am new to the area, it has taken me a while to become familiar both with my small village and the surrounding villages. Early one morning, during my third month of service, I went jogging. After some distance, I decided to turn back toward the village. With the sun rising on the horizon, I could see my way fine; but when I came to a fork in the road, I went the wrong way and ended up in an unfamiliar nearby village. At first anxiety overwhelmed me, but a local woman pointed me in the right direction. . . . Then, like a shepherd, a villager on a horse showed me to the junction that led toward my village.

“As I was following my newfound ‘shepherd,’ I thought about our Great Shepherd who leads us home to God when we are lost. Now I don’t worry about getting lost, because I trust that Christ will lead me home every time.”

THOUGHT FOR THE DAY – When I lose my way, God will always lead me home.

Prayer: Dear God, our Shepherd, when we become lost on our journey, seek us and lead us home to your loving embrace. Amen.

To read the rest of the story in The Upper Room, click on the following link: http://devotional.upperroom.org/

This entry was posted in Comfort, Encouragement, Guidance, Hope, Inspiration, Love, Peace and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

