Strength of salvation, a symbol of power and might

Click on the following link for previous layout and posts: https://helpfulinspirationalblog.wordpress.com/

DAILY DEVOTIONAL – Monday, July 24, 2017

For more Helpful Inspirational Material:

May you find comfort, encouragement, guidance, hope, inspiration, love, and peace – https://helpfulinspirationalblog.wordpress.com/. May you also find answers to your question(s) through the Scriptures that address every situation you face, and help with your problems. Deb

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Dear Lord, open our hearts and our minds to the power of Your Word, which as we read, we may know, understand, and obey Your Word for us today. We pray in Jesus’ name. Amen. (Author unknown)

Today’s scripture reading:

God’s protection of his people is limitless and can take many forms. David characterized God’s care with five military symbols. God is like (1) a rock that can’t be moved by any who would harm us, (2) a fortress or place of safety where the enemy can’t follow, (3) a shield that comes between us and harm, (4) strength of salvation, a symbol of power and might, (5)a stronghold high above our enemies. If you need protection, look to God. (NLT)

Psalm 18:1-6 – I love you, Lord; you are my strength. The Lord is my rock, my fortress, and my savior; my God is my rock, in whom I find protection. He is my shield, the strength of my salvation, and my stronghold. I will cal on the Lord, who is worthy of praise, for he saves me from my enemies.

The ropes of death surrounded me; the floods of destruction swept over me. The grave wrapped its ropes around me; death itself stared me in the face. But in my distress I cried out to the Lord; yes, I prayed to my God, for help. He heard me from his sanctuary; my cry reached his ears.

I can do all things through Christ which strengtheneth me. –Philippians 4:13 (KJV)

Janine A. Kuty (Virginia) titled her story “POWER TO PERSEVERE;” here is a portion of Janine’s story:

“‘Christ gives us power to persevere.’ These words have been written on the chalkboard in my family’s kitchen since January 2003. At the time I was in the habit of writing The Upper Room’s ‘Thought for the Day’ on the chalkboard so that the whole family could meditate on it during the day. However, a family crisis occurred around the time I wrote, ‘Christ give us power to persevere,’ and the saying has remained on our chalkboard ever since. These words have reminded us to rely on Christ’s strength again and again.

“The Bible tells us that God alone is the source of our strength (Ps. 18:1; 2:7) and that we gain strength by waiting upon the Lord (Isa. 40:31). . . . We too can learn from difficult experiences.

“Our chalkboard reminder that God through Christ empowers us to endure has seen our family through my grandma’s decade-long illness, a family friend’s suicide, my dad’s cancer diagnosis, and the deaths of my grandma and dad. In the years since then, these words have been a daily comfort to my mom and me. Rather than being a thought for a single day, the promise of Christ’s strength can be an encouraging reminder for us each and every day.”

THOUGHT FOR THE DAY – Christ is my strength, today and every day.

Prayer: Dear God, thank you for daily reminders of your love. Help us to rely on your strength each day. Amen.

To read the rest of the story in The Upper Room, click on the following link: http://devotional.upperroom.org/

This entry was posted in Comfort, Encouragement, Guidance, Hope, Inspiration, Love, Peace and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

