If we know He is in control, we can confidently follow

Click on the following link for previous layout and posts: https://helpfulinspirationalblog.wordpress.com/

DAILY DEVOTIONAL – Saturday, August 5, 2017

For more Helpful Inspirational Material:

May you find comfort, encouragement, guidance, hope, inspiration, love, and peace – https://helpfulinspirationalblog.wordpress.com/. May you also find answers to your question(s) through the Scriptures that address every situation you face, and help with your problems. Deb

Dear Lord, open our hearts and our minds to the power of Your Word, which as we read, we may know, understand, and obey Your Word for us today. We pray in Jesus’ name. Amen. (Author unknown)

Today’s scripture reading:

This was a prediction of Peter’s death by crucifixion. Tradition indicates that Peter was crucified for his faith—upside down because he did not feel worthy of dying as his Lord did. Despite what Peter’s future held, Jesus told him to follow him. We may be uncertain and fearful about our future. But if we know He is in control, we can confidently follow Christ. (NLT)

John 21:15-23 – After breakfast Jesus said to Simon Peter, “Simon son of John, do you love me more than these?”

“Yes, Lord,” Peter replied, “you know I love you.”

“Then feed my lambs,” Jesus told him.

Jesus repeated the question: “Simon son of John, do you love me?”

“Yes, Lord,” Peter said, “you know I love you.”

“Then take care of my sheep,” Jesus said.

Once more he asked him, “Simon son of John, do you love me?”

Peter was grieved that Jesus asked the question a third time. He said, “Lord, you know everything. You know I love you.”

Jesus said, “Then feed my sheep. The truth is, when you were young, you were able to do as you liked and go wherever you wanted to. But when you are old, you will stretch out your hands, and others will direct you and take you where you don’t want to go.” Jesus said this to let him know what kind of death he would die to glorify God. Then Jesus told him, “Follow me.”

Peter turned around and saw the disciple Jesus loved following them—the one who had leaned over to Jesus during supper and asked, “Lord, who among us will betray you?” Peter asked Jesus, “What about him, Lord?”

Jesus replied, “If I want him to remain alive until I return, what is that to you? You follow me.” So the rumor spread among the community of believers that that disciple wouldn’t die. But that isn’t what Jesus said at all. He only said, “If I want him to remain alive until I return, what is that to you?”

[Jesus] said to [Peter], “Follow me.”

Melissa Wilson (Kansas) titled her story “FOLLOW ME!” Here is a portion of Melissa’s story:

“In today’s reading we find Jesus talk to Peter after Peter has denied him. Jesus tries to help him focus on his own life. . . .

“At times I act like Peter. I look at others’ lives and begin comparing my life to theirs. Why has God allowed them such good fortune and not me? Why don’t I have a husband, children, a nice house, or a certain job? But when I start comparing, I become frustrated and dissatisfied with my life.

“Jesus’ answer to me is the same as it was to Peter: ‘What is that to you? You must follow me.’ Jesus knows I become distracted by looking at others’ lies. All he wants from me is to focus on what he has called me to do.

“We all have unique abilities and talents that God can use. . . . Even if God does not give us something we want, we can trust that god’s plans for us are always good. When we accept the life God has given us and live it well, we can be content.”

THOUGHT FOR THE DAY – God always want the best for me.

Prayer: Dear heavenly Father, thank you for loving us. We are yours. Help us to live life in ways that glorify you. Amen.

Prayer Focus: SOMEONE STRUGGLING TO FIND CONTENTMENT

To read the rest of the story in The Upper Room, click on the following link: http://devotional.upperroom.org/

This entry was posted in Comfort, Encouragement, Guidance, Hope, Inspiration, Love, Peace and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

