Seek His will in all you do, He will direct your paths

Click on the following link for previous layout and posts: https://helpfulinspirationalblog.wordpress.com/

DAILY DEVOTIONAL – Thursday, August 10, 2017

For more Helpful Inspirational Material:

May you find comfort, encouragement, guidance, hope, inspiration, love, and peace – https://helpfulinspirationalblog.wordpress.com/. May you also find answers to your question(s) through the Scriptures that address every situation you face, and help with your problems. Deb

Dear Lord, open our hearts and our minds to the power of Your Word, which as we read, we may know, understand, and obey Your Word for us today. We pray in Jesus’ name. Amen. (Author unknown)

Today’s scripture reading:

To receive God’s guidance, said Solomon, we must seek God’s will in all we do. This means turning every area of life over to him. About a thousand years later, Jesus emphasized this same truth. Examine your values and priorities. What is important to you? In what areas have you not acknowledged him? You may already acknowledge God in many areas of your life, but the areas where you attempt to restrict or ignore him will cause you grief. Make him a vital part of everything you do; then he will guide you because you will be working to accomplish his purposes. (NLT)

Proverbs 3:1-8 – My child, never forget the things I have taught you. Store my commands in your heart, for they will give you a long and satisfying life. Never let loyalty and kindness get away from you! Wear them like a necklace; write them deep within your heart. Then you will find favor with both God and people, and you will gain a good reputation.

Trust in the Lord with all your heart; do not depend on your own understanding. Seek his will in all you do, and he will direct your paths.

Don’t be impressed with your own wisdom. Instead, fear the Lord and turn your back on evil. Then you will gain renewed health and vitality.

The Lord says, “Forget the former things; do not dwell on the past. See, I am doing a new thing! Now it springs up; . . . I am making a way in the wilderness and streams in the wasteland.” –Isaiah 43:18-19 (NIV)

Tamar Piehler’s (Georgia) story is titled “MAKING ROOM;” here is a portion of Tamar’s story:

“At age 42, I developed an ailment that affected my motor skills. . . . For four years, I feared the future and prayed for strength and healing. I found hope in Isaiah 43:18-19, trusting that God was working on my behalf.

“After years of living in fear, I made peace with my situation, knowing that God would be with me even if I became confined to a wheelchair or worse. I was directed to a skilled neurologist, who diagnosed me with a rare genetic condition that left my body without enough dopamine, a chemical required for proper nerve-brain function. Trusting God with my future, I began taking medicine and immediately began to improve. Within a year, I could walk, stand, and move correctly.

“I now rely on three doses of medicine each day, but I praise God for my body.   Without my weakness I would never have known the depth of God’s strength, wisdom, and unconditional love. Only after I stopped trying to solve the problem myself did I make room for God to answer my prayers.”

THOUGHT FOR THE DAY – How am I making room for God to help me?

Prayer: Dear Lord, help me to lean less on my own understanding and to turn my burdens over to you. Amen.

To read the rest of the story in The Upper Room, click on the following link: http://devotional.upperroom.org/

This entry was posted in Comfort, Encouragement, Guidance, Hope, Inspiration, Love, Peace and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

