My power works best in your weakness

Click on the following link for previous layout and posts: https://helpfulinspirationalblog.wordpress.com/

DAILY DEVOTIONAL – Saturday, August 12, 2017

For more Helpful Inspirational Material:

May you find comfort, encouragement, guidance, hope, inspiration, love, and peace – https://helpfulinspirationalblog.wordpress.com/. May you also find answers to your question(s) through the Scriptures that address every situation you face, and help with your problems. Deb

Dear Lord, open our hearts and our minds to the power of Your Word, which as we read, we may know, understand, and obey Your Word for us today. We pray in Jesus’ name. Amen. (Author unknown)

Today’s scripture reading:

When we are strong in abilities or resources, we are tempted to do God’s work on our own, and that can lead to pride. When we are weak, allowing God to fill us with his power, then we are stronger than we could ever be on our own. God does not intend for us to be weak, passive, or ineffective—life provides enough hindrances and setbacks without us creating them. When those obstacles come, we must depend on god. Only his power will make us effective for him and will help us to do work that has lasting value. (NLT)

2 Corinthians 12:1-10 – This boasting is all so foolish, but let me go on. Let me tell about the visions and revelations I received from the Lord. I was caught up into the third heaven fourteen years ago. Whether my body was there or just my spirit, I don’t know; only God knows. But I do know that I was caught up into paradise and heard things so astounding that they cannot be told. That experience is something worth boasting about, but I am not going to do it. I am going to boast only about my weaknesses. I have plenty to boast about and would be no fool in doing it, because I would be telling the truth. But I won’t do it. I don’t want anyone to think more highly of me than what they can actually see in my life and my message, even though I have received wonderful revelations from God. But to keep me from getting puffed up, I was given a thorn in my flesh, a messenger from Satan to torment me and keep me from getting proud.

Three different times I begged the Lord to take it away. Each time he said, “My gracious favor is all you need. My power works best in your weakness.” So now I am glad to boast about my weaknesses, so that the power of Christ may work through me. Since I know it is all for Christ’s good, I am quite content with my weaknesses and with insults, hardships, persecutions, and calamities. For when I am weak, then I am strong.

Let us run with perseverance the race marked out for us, fixing our eyes on Jesus, the pioneer and perfecter of faith. –Hebrews 12:1-2 (NIV)

Jane Compton (Oregon) titled her story “KEEP GOING;” here is a portion of Jane’s story:

“At age 16, when I joined a six-week bicycle trip through Holland, England, and France, I found Holland manageable, but England’s hills were overwhelming. . . . I was often alone and lagging behind, especially on the steep climbs. When my travel companions stopped for a quick break, they’d watch for my approach and yell, ‘Keep going, Jane! Don’t stop!’

“Now, when I’m faced with a setback or overwhelmed by challenges, I picture God in the role of my long-ago traveling companions. But God is more than a cheerleader. God is my strength and provider. When I pray for God’s help to keep me going, what seems staggering at the moment becomes straightforward and possible.

“Reading about the faith of others in Hebrews 11 and recalling God’s words to Paul in today’s reading encourage me: ‘My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.’ Each trial we face is an opportunity for diligence and dedication. We can look beyond the all- consuming task to find in Jesus the strength and encouragement we need to continue.”

THOUGHT FOR THE DAY – I’m able to go the distance with God as my strength.

Prayer: Dear god, thank you for opportunities to practice perseverance. Help us to become more steadfast so that we will mature in our faith. Amen.

To read the rest of the story in The Upper Room, click on the following link: http://devotional.upperroom.org/

This entry was posted in Comfort, Encouragement, Guidance, Hope, Inspiration, Love, Peace and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

