He offers to teach us the best way to go

Click on the following link for previous layout and posts: https://helpfulinspirationalblog.wordpress.com/

DAILY DEVOTIONAL – Monday, August 14, 2017

For more Helpful Inspirational Material:

May you find comfort, encouragement, guidance, hope, inspiration, love, and peace – https://helpfulinspirationalblog.wordpress.com/. May you also find answers to your question(s) through the Scriptures that address every situation you face, and help with your problems. Deb

Dear Lord, open our hearts and our minds to the power of Your Word, which as we read, we may know, understand, and obey Your Word for us today. We pray in Jesus’ name. Amen. (Author unknown)

Today’s scripture reading:

God describes some people as being like horses or mules that have to be controlled by bits and bridles. Rather than letting God guide them step by step, they stubbornly leave God only one option. If God wants to keep them useful for him, he must use discipline and punishment. God longs to guide us with love and wisdom rather than punishment. He offers to teach us the best way to go. Accept the advice written in God’s Word, and don’t let your stubbornness keep you from obeying God. (NLT)

Psalm 32:8-11 – The Lord says, “I will guide you along the best pathway for your life. I will advise you and watch over you. Do not be like a senseless horse or mule that needs a bit and bridle to keep it under control.”

Many sorrows come to the wicked, but unfailing love surrounds those who trust the Lord. So rejoice in the Lord and be glad, all you who obey him! Shout for joy, all you whose hearts are pure!

I will instruct you and teach you in the way you should go; I will counsel you with my loving eye on you. –Psalm 32:8 (NIV)

Abigail Pijal (Ecuador) titled her story “IN GOD’S CARE;” here is a portion of Abigail’s story:

“. . . After graduation, I packed my bags and traveled to another province in search of a job. My plan was to work wherever I settled. I never once thought about the plans God had for my life. I left behind my family and the work I did in my congregation. . . .

“Two months went by, and I was offered no job. During this time, I felt a strong longing for my family and church. I consoled myself by reading El Aposento Alto (The Upper Room Spanish edition), but I felt a great emptiness in my heart. I began to wonder if God had abandoned me, but I tried to trust that god was watching over me and caring for my well-being. At this low point in my life, I received a call with a job offer in the province I had left. I understood this call as God’s answer to my prayers. Without thinking twice about it, I packed my bags and returned. From this experience, I learned that the plans God has for me are not always the same as mine. God has always watched over me. When we continue to pray and have faith, we can be assured that God always watches over us and guides us.”

THOUGHT FOR THE DAY – God has great plans for me.

Prayer: Loving God, help us understand that you want only the best for us and that your plans are far greater than ours. Amen.

To read the rest of the story in The Upper Room, click on the following link: http://devotional.upperroom.org/

This entry was posted in Comfort, Encouragement, Guidance, Hope, Inspiration, Love, Peace and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

