Unfailing love surrounds those who trust Him

Click on the following link for previous layout and posts: https://helpfulinspirationalblog.wordpress.com/

DAILY DEVOTIONAL – Monday, September 17, 2018

For more Helpful Inspirational Material:

May you find comfort, encouragement, guidance, hope, inspiration, love, and peace – https://helpfulinspirationalblog.wordpress.com/. May you also find answers to your question(s) through the Scriptures that address every situation you face, and help with your problems. Deb

Dear Lord, open our hearts and our minds to the power of Your Word, which as we read, we may know, understand, and obey Your Word for us today. We pray in Jesus’ name. Amen. (Author unknown)

Today’s scripture reading:

God describes some people as being like horses or mules that have to be controlled by bits and bridles. Rather than letting God guide them step by step, they stubbornly leave God only one option. If God wants to keep them useful for him, he must use discipline and punishment. God longs to guide us with love and wisdom rather than punishment. He offers to teach us the best way to go. Accept the advice written in God’s Word, and don’t let your stubbornness keep you from obeying God. [God’s unfailing love surrounds those who trust Him.] (NLT)

Psalm 32:6-11 – Therefore, let all the godly confess their rebellion to you while there is time, that they may not drown in the floodwaters of judgment. For you are my hiding place; you protect me from trouble. You surround me with songs of victory.

The Lord says, “I will guide you along the best pathway for your life. I will advise you and watch over you. Do not be like a senseless horse or mule that needs a bit and bridle to keep it under control.”

Many sorrows come to the wicked, but unfailing love surrounds those who trust the Lord. So rejoice in the Lord and be glad, all you who obey him! Shout for joy, all you whose hearts are pure!

Do not fear, for I am with you; do not be dismayed, for I am your God. I will strengthen you and help you; I will uphold you with my righteous right hand. –Isaiah 41:10 (NIV)

Kim Sisk (Oklahoma) titled her story “PLAYLIST;” here is a portion of Kim’s story:

“I sat in the surgeon’s office, confident that God was in charge and that the biopsy report would be good. Then the doctor came in, took my hand, and told me the news I never expected to hear. I had a particularly aggressive type of breast cancer and would need chemotherapy, a lumpectomy, and radiation. . . .

“My whole life went into a tailspin. During the following weeks I dutifully walked through a maze of doctor’s appointments, tests, scans, insurance issues, and scheduling around work demands. Fear and worry were my constant companions. The day chemotherapy started was almost a relief.

“The months ahead were definitely not easy, but during that time God spoke to me through song, and I knew I was not alone. I was walking through deep waters, and God was with me every step of the way. I developed a playlist that I listened to over and over again, allowing God’s grace and love to replace fear with hope. As my treatment regimen was healing my body, music was healing my soul.

“Even today, two years cancer free, when I hear some of the songs from my playlist I remember all I went through. But more importantly, I am assured that God will be with me no matter what lies ahead.”

THOUGHT FOR THE DAY – No matter how deep the water, God is with me.

Prayer: God of all comfort, thank you for being with us during hard times. Help us always to rely on your grace. Amen.

Prayer Focus: CANCER SURVIVORS

To read the rest of the story in The Upper Room, click on the following link: http://devotional.upperroom.org/

This entry was posted in Comfort, Encouragement, Guidance, Hope, Inspiration, Love, Peace and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment