First step, recognizing why you are afraid

Click on the following link for previous layout and posts: https://helpfulinspirationalblog.wordpress.com/

DAILY DEVOTIONAL – Wednesday, October 25, 2017

For more Helpful Inspirational Material:

May you find comfort, encouragement, guidance, hope, inspiration, love, and peace – https://helpfulinspirationalblog.wordpress.com/. May you also find answers to your question(s) through the Scriptures that address every situation you face, and help with your problems. Deb

Dear Lord, open our hearts and our minds to the power of Your Word, which as we read, we may know, understand, and obey Your Word for us today. We pray in Jesus’ name. Amen. (Author unknown)

Today’s scripture reading:

Nehemiah wasn’t ashamed to admit his fear, but he refused to allow fear to stop him from doing what God had called him to do. When we allow fear to rule us, we make fear more powerful than God. Is there a task God wants you to do, but fear is holding you back? God is greater than all your fears. First step, recognizing why you are afraid, then commit your fear to God. Realize that if God has called you to a task, he will help you accomplish it. (NLT)

Nehemiah 2:1-8 – Early the following spring, during the twentieth year of King Artaxerxes’ reign, I was serving the king his wine. I had never appeared sad in his presence before this time. So the king asked me, “Why are you so sad? You aren’t sick, are you? You look like a man with deep troubles.”

Then I was badly frightened, but I replied, “Long live the King! Why shouldn’t I be sad? For the city where my ancestors are buried is in ruins, and the gates have been burned down.”

The king asked, “Well, how can I help you?”

With a prayer to the God of heaven, I replied, “If it please Your Majesty and if you are pleased with me, your servant, send me to Judah to rebuild the city where my ancestors are buried.”

The king, with the queen sitting beside him, asked, “How long will you be gone? When will you return?” So the king agreed, and I set a date for my departure.

I also said to the king, “If it please Your Majesty, give me letters to the governors of the province west of the Euphrates River, instructing them to let me travel safely through their territories on my way to Judah. And please send a letter to Asaph, the manager of the king’s forest, instructing him to give me timber, I will need it to make beams for the gates of the Temple fortress, for the city walls, and for a house for myself.” And the king granted these requests, because the gracious hand of God was on me.

Paul wrote, “[I am] confident of this, that he who began a good work in you will carry it on to completion until the day of Christ Jesus.” –Philippians 1:6 (NIV)

Samantha Parsons (West Virginia) titled her story “STONES IN OUR PATH;” here is a portion of Samantha’s story:

“Our land is called ‘Rock Hill Farm’ because of its never-ending supply of large stones. . . .

“Reflecting back over the past 34 years, I have identified other heavy ‘stones’ in my path: hurtful words, rejection, fear of failure, isolation, illness. I have spent many years collecting these stones – piling them up and sulking over them in despair.

“. . . We might look at life and see many stones that have caused us great hurt and sadness, but we also have a choice: we can use them to build a tower of misery in our lives, or we can let God build great foundations of joyful lives that can give lasting hope to others.”

THOUGHT FOR THE DAY – God can use the “stones” in my life to do great things.

Prayer: Loving Father, when we are hurting, help us to seek your comfort, healing, and direction. Amen.

To read the rest of the story in The Upper Room, click on the following link: http://devotional.upperroom.org/

This entry was posted in Comfort, Encouragement, Guidance, Hope, Inspiration, Love, Peace and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment