Importance of not merely hearing, but learning

Click on the following link for previous layout and posts: https://helpfulinspirationalblog.wordpress.com/

DAILY DEVOTIONAL – Wednesday, May 1, 2019

For more Helpful Inspirational Material:

May you find comfort, encouragement, guidance, hope, inspiration, love, and peace – https://helpfulinspirationalblog.wordpress.com/. May you also find answers to your question(s) through the Scriptures that address every situation you face, and help with your problems. Deb

Dear Lord, open our hearts and our minds to the power of Your Word, which as we read, we may know, understand, and obey Your Word for us today. We pray in Jesus’ name. Amen. (Author unknown)

Today’s scripture reading:

Jesus was alluding to an Old Testament view of the messianic Kingdom in which all people are taught directly by God. He was stressing the importance of not merely hearing, but learning. We are taught by God through the Bible, our experiences, the thoughts the Holy Spirit brings, and relationships with other Christians. Are you open to God’s teaching? (NLT)

John 6:43-48 – But Jesus replied, “Don’t complain about what I said. For people can’t come to me unless the Father who sent me draws them to me, and at the last day I will raise them from the dead. As it is written in the Scriptures, ‘They will all be taught by God.’ Everyone who hears and learns from the Father comes to me. (Not that anyone has ever seen the Father; only I, who was sent from God, have seen him.)

“I assure you, anyone who believes in me already has eternal life. Yes, I am the bread of life! . . .”

Quoted verse: I have placed before you an open door that no one can shut. I know that you have little strength, yet you have kept my word and have not denied my name. –Revelation 3:8 (NIV)

“Story” – Matt Simmons (Kentucky, USA) titled his story “VISITING WILLY;” here is a portion of Matt’s story:

“. . . I drove up the lane to visit my friend Willy. . . .

“. . . We’d sit and talk about nature, his kids, and how the stroke had made him angry and less motivated. I mostly listened. He just needed to be heard. Willy had a long history of drug abuse, alcoholism, wrong turns, and pain that he carried deep inside.

“I visited Willy for about a year and watched him grow weaker over time. He wouldn’t talk about God. ‘That isn’t for me. I am good where I’m at,’ he’d say. One rainy afternoon, as I pulled into Willy’s drive, he walked unsteadily toward me through the tall grass to welcome me. ‘I did it!’ he exclaimed.

“‘Did what?’ I asked.

“‘You know – went down to the ol’ church and got right.’ I smiled and shook my head with an awesome feeling of fulfillment. We chuckled and walked back to his porch. In the last months of Willy’s life, the Holy Spirit had called him to walk through the church doors and forever be with God.”

THOUGHT FOR THE DAY – My small actions can make a huge difference in someone’s life of faith.

Prayer: Heavenly Father, thank you for opportunities to share your love and grace with others. Amen.

To read the rest of the story in The Upper Room, click on the following link: http://devotional.upperroom.org/

This entry was posted in Comfort, Encouragement, Guidance, Hope, Inspiration, Love, Peace and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment